JANESVILLE — Early voting in Janesville for the Feb. 21, 2023 primary will begin Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2023 through Friday, Feb. 17, 2023; Monday – Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., except for Feb. 17, when voting will continue until 5 p.m.

Voting will take place in the Clerk-Treasurer’s Office on the second floor of Janesville City Hall. Voters should remember to bring a photo ID and there will be no outside drop box for absentee ballots.

The only race on Janesville’s primary ballot is the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

In the Supreme Court race, Jennifer Dorow, Daniel Kelly, Everett Mitchell and Janet Protasiewicz are running in the primary for an open seat. The top two vote-getters will advance to the nonpartisan general election on April 4, 2023.

Justice Patience Roggensack’s term will expire on July 31, 2023. Roggensack is not running for re-election.

Although the race is officially non-partisan, candidates have been increasingly supported and promoted by Republicans or Democrats and have shared either left-leaning or right leaning views.

The current court is considered to have a 4-3 conservative majority. With Roggensack—a member of the court’s conservative majority—retiring, this election will determine the ideological control of the court.

Mitchell and Protasiewicz are running as liberal candidates. Kelly and Dorow are running as conservative candidates, according to a race summary on the election monitoring website, Balletpedia.org.

The Wisconsin State Journal in Madison did a Q&A with each of the candidates. READ HERE.

By Dan Plutchak

Dan Plutchak of Janesville is founder of the Janesville News Report